• Categories

  • Most Popular Questions

  • Recently Viewed Questions

  • Recent Answers

    Daigrepont on Can an earthquake cause air tu…
    Benedict on How did God come into exi…
    joshua on How does the human body g…
    Ian on How did God come into exi…
    Sidra on How did God come into exi…
  • Recent Questions

  • Blog Stats

    • 2,178,960 hits
  • Visitors since 11-3-08

    counter create hit
  • Terms and Conditions

  • Warning

    We are doing maintenance on this site, so some posts may disappear for a short time. Sorry. Normal service will soon be resumed...
  • Pages

  • December 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

Is there a tangible thing called ‘information’?

Hi,

I’m no scientist but I’m very interested in big questions. The one that I’m currently pondering is the origin of life. From what I’ve read already scientists seem to hide behind a rather vague and non-descript reference to the role of information. But what is information? In the way scientists refer to it, it is not simply something that can be interpreted by our brains. Is there a tangible thing called information? And if so what is it? And does it have mass? (the last question I need to know for a science fiction novel I’m writing).

Thanks,
Rob

One Response

  1. I feel this falls more inside the realm of philosophy than science. I’ve also pondered about the nature of information and knowledge. I feel like you’re asking (correct me if I’m wrong) if knowledge exists “out there,” ie. outside of our perception. Which reminds me of the subjective idealism of Berkeley (the philosopher), perhaps you should look him up.

    For example, I’ve asked myself the question: “If no conscious being knows, for example, exactly how many stars there are in the universe, then is there an exact number? Does that number exist “out there” somewhere, even if no one knows it?” My logic tells me that yes, information must exist independent of us knowing them. But how, and to what degree that information “exists” somewhere “out there” is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

